The European network of traditional music and dance was founded on the understanding that traditional music and dance allows for the diversity of cultural identities that constitute the wealth of the territory of Europe, and that they are a medium of balance, tolerance and peace. A network programme was devised and actioned over a period of five years to undertake a mission to promote and develop all traditional musics and dances, be they endogenous, immigrant, regional, national or transnational, in their historical as well as contemporary, local and universal dimension; to facilitate traditional musics as a medium of cooperation in a multicultural Europe; to call on public authorities at all levels for recognition of the cultural specificities in which they partake, of their importance in the construction of Europe, and for the resources needed for their safeguarding and development; to strive at all levels (regional, national, transnational), and particularly vis-à-vis European institutions, for the development of a real European cultural policy, with recognition of primary transnational cultural networks established and in support for the perpetuation of their actions.

Further Documentation on the European Network of Traditional Music and Dance/ Réseau Européen des Musiques et Danses Traditionelles is available at


Executive, Board & Membership Profile

The Board Membership was drawn from 15 member states with an additional representation from 30 countries in the larger European regions.  


Jany Rouger Founding Executive Member and President ( 1995 - 02)  Working Group Coordinator (1997 - 2002),

Nollaig Ó Fiongháile, Founding Executive Member (1995 - 04), Working Group Coordinator (1997 - 2002), President (2002-04)

Philipe Fanise,  Founding Executive Member (1995 - 04)  Working Group Coordinator (1997 - 2002)

Lars Farago, Founding Executive Member (1995 - 04)  Working Group Coordinator (1997 - 2002)

Maurizio Martinotti, Executive Member (2000 - 04)

Jan Lothe Eriksen,  Executive Member (2000 - 04)